NewMusicAlert #2

liananne la havas

This girl.

I never quite listened to her stuff because I figured she was a version of Corinne Bailey Rae and the cool kids only liked her because she was kind of obscure (not really though).

That was a mistake.

Today, as I wasted time on the internet, I saw this video on different sites. I wasn’t going to open it…but when my friend Vay (who has a good ear) sent it to me, I did and I was pleasantly surprised.

I’m not entirely sure I wasn’t influenced by the gorgeous visuals (she is stunning), but I can’t take away from the song. Silky production by Paul Epworth (He of Adele’s award winning “21”) coupled with La Havas’ airy yet technically sharp vocals, made for a really delightful piece of music.

This one will be singing for a long, long time.

It’s off her sophomore album Blood.

Get a taste of her first album here.

Leave a Reply

